Nintendo Direct 1/14/15

So I planned this week to release an actual article I’ve been working on and excited for, but with the release of today’s Nintendo Direct, I felt like I had to go the lazy route and talk about the big news and what I’m most excited about. So here we go.

New Nintendo 3DS

NDirect11415_2

The big news of the Direct was that the New Nintendo 3DS was finally coming to America February 13th. When it was announced last year for Japan, I was very excited for it and I was convinced I was getting it. However, as money has faded away, I find myself looking towards the future for getting one. The jump from 3DS to New 3DS seems similar to that of from DS to DSi, being some small tweaks but not a huge jump into the next handheld generation. Faster processing power is always welcome, along with a smarter camera for face tracking and screen brightness auto-adjustment. Amiibo support is also built straight into the touch screen. However, it’s an interesting choice to only bring the XL model of the New 3DS to America. It makes sense from a business standpoint (less varied manufacturing), and I was planning on picking an XL variant up anyways since I have the original 3DS. That Majora’s Mask model, though… it might be enough to make me raise the money somehow.

Classic Wii Games Sold on eShop

NDirect11415_3

Probably the biggest surprise of the Direct, for me at least, was the announcement that Wii games are going to be sold digitally on the Wii U eShop. For select titles, you no longer need to boot the system into Wii mode to play them. Titles compatible with the Pro controller will even work with the Gamepad itself. No longer will you have to scour Gamestop or Amazon for certain games. These games will also be available at half price, or $10, for the first week they’re on sale. Super Mario Galaxy 2 was released today, with Punch-Out!!! coming next week, and Metroid Prime Trilogy following that. Specifically, the last game on here is huge for the fact that it’s so hard to find the actual disk anywhere for a reasonable price due to its limited edition nature, and it’s the best way to play this amazing trilogy (not to mention the amazing price of $10 for three great games). I cannot wait until more games are released to round out my collection of those I missed.

amiibo Overload

NDirect11415_1

Holy cow, did we hear a lot of amiibo news today. The biggest bit is probably the next wave of Smash Bros amiibos to be released in the spring, including Charizard, Robin, Lucina, Ness, Wario, and Pac-Man. Also announced were a Super Mario line of amiibos, that hold all of the mainstay characters of the franchise, including the first Toad amiibo. This Toad works with Captain Toad: Treasure Tracker to unlock a hidden pixel Toad that does… nothing that we know of. All of the Super Mario amiibos, and also the Rosalina & Luma Smash Bros amiibo, will work with Mario Party 10‘s new amiibo Party mode. Kirby and the Rainbow Curse will give cool buffs to Kirby depending on which Kirby series Smash Bros amiibo you use. Codename S.T.E.A.M. will also be one of the first games to feature amiibo support on the New 3DS, allowing you to play as any of the Fire Emblem amiibo characters. Finally, Super Smash Bros for 3DS will receive an update next month to allow amiibo functionality. This toy line still looks like it’s budding to me, but I’m sure more titles will include support and make these enticing to more people.

New Games and Updates on Old Ones

NDirect11415_4

Finally, there were a few games that stood out to me the most. The first game shown was a new Fire Emblem game for 3DS, and it looks enticing as ever. I unfortunately have not gotten to play Fire Emblem: Awakening yet, but I hope to pick it up soon in time for the new game. Strategy games aren’t usually my thing, but this series has always intrigued me enough to try it out. The demo for Awakening was good, and I hope to get into the games more soon. Bandai Namco’s Project Treasure looked enticing, being able to play for free with up to 4 people, exploring and finding treasure, but it was a bit aggravating to see them have basically nothing to show. It always irritates me when developers announce games when they’re far off and have nothing to really show besides an idea. However, I’ll keep my eyes peeled. Xenoblade Chronicles 3D looks just as good as its Wii counterpart is, though the new “feature” of looking at in-game models is not at all enticing enough for me to pick up a New 3DS solely for it. However, those that pick the system up can rest assured that it’s a great game. Finally, my favorite game of the bunch and my third favorite game of all time, The Legend of Zelda: Majora’s Mask 3D was shown a bit more and I still cannot wait. The remake of such a great game looks to be improving some of its flaws to make it an even better game, such as a more comprehensible Bomber’s Notebook. And with the game only a month away, it’s time to get ready to save the world from a scary moon once more.


So there you have it. Personally, a so-so Direct. There was some mildly large news, but not a lot of it catered to me personally. What do you think? What are you most looking forward to from this Direct?

Leave a Reply

